The fine print of Sedation

I have a recommendation to throw out there to those with Dental insurance. When they recommend sedation for a root canal, I suggest you agree. But make sure you take all factors into consideration. I myself had such an experience this week, but did not think about the fallout from the experience.

They told me to have someone who could drive me home and take care of me. What they didn’t tell me was that I would be practically unconcious for 12 hours, and not to plan on going anywhere with stairs unless said person could carry me. Forget stairs. Just getting into the house was practically impossible. I’d like to send a shout out to my sister-in-law who had to practically drag me from the car to the apartment doors, then up the stairs. Then my husband had to reverse the whole thing when he got off work. Luckily, he was better equiped in the muscle department and had an easier time, though not by much.

Also included in this lugubrious task was the responsiblity of making me drink lots of fluids, which of course I refused in my stupor, and the task of getting me in and out of the bathroom and all that falls between. Luckily, most these directions were ignored with no repercusions once I put up a dazed fight.

So just a word to the wise: When they say you’ll need someone to take care of you… what they mean is that you’ll need someone to take care of EVERYTHING for you; to be your legs, eyes, hands and YOUR BRAIN!

2 Responses to “The fine print of Sedation”

  1. Julie-
    That’s horrible! I don’t think I do well with those medications. I was way out of it when I got my wisdom teeth out. I hope you took a few days off of work and had someone looking after your kids for you.

  2. alicia nelson Says:

    heeeey thanks for the shout out, i’ve never had one of those before….and you’re welcome.

Leave a comment