Revising

I’m on the last 40 pages of an 85,000 word novel and I’ve decided that revising is not my strong point. I’ve really got to work on that. This is just the first revision, and according to David Farland I’ve got at least five more to go. Eek! The very thought makes me want to cry. Still, who am I to argue with someone like him? So I’ll press on, do my next five revisions and hope to high heaven it doesn’t need another after that. By that point, I’ll probably be ready to toss the book in the fire.

As for my next project, I can’t decide what to do. Shall I go with vampires, YA romance, or LDS chick lit? Somebody, please make the decision for me.

3 Responses to “Revising”

  1. Misty Moncur Says:

    Hmmm…I think vamps are going to be OUT pretty soon, so probably don’t waste the time on it, unless your idea is super awesome (which they always are) or super unique (ditto).
    Do the YA romance. You know you want to.
    BTW I think you only have to revise five times if you’re a crappy writer. Just saying

  2. Misty Moncur Says:

    How I meant for that to come out was that I don’t think you’ll have to revise five times.

  3. ha ha. Oh Julie, don’t write about vampires. I don’t think I can deal with another vampire book. I think that you should write a clean love story that’s not necessarily LDS so you appeal to more people, but still have a good chance to get picked up by a local publisher.

Leave a Reply

