Talents

A while ago we read the parable of the talents and it got me thinking. The point of the story is clear. Take what you’re given and turn it into something more. Don’t squander or hide it. Value it. In the parable the master gave the men their talents. They knew what they had been given. It was right there in their hot little hands. Two men went out and used their talents to get more talents while another guy buried his, only to hand it back to his master later.

Here is my concern: I don’t know what talents I’ve been handed, so how can I be held accountable if I don’t use it/them to gain more talents? Maybe I’m really good milking cows, but I’ll never know because I don’t live on a dairy farm. Some of you might ask, “well, do you have an interest in milking cows?” My answer would be “Of course not. Do I seem like a morning person to you?” But just because I have no interest in doing it doesn’t mean that wasn’t one of the talents given to me.

On the flip side: There are things in my past which I have considered talents. I tried to enhance them, but they never went anywhere. But in those moments, in the midst of those experiences, I really tried. So why, if the Lord wanted me to do something with them, did it not work out? If those were the talents I was given and expected to use to garner more talents then why the big Fail?

I guess what I’m trying to say here is: How do you know? I can’t go out and experience everything. With the things I do suspect as talents, how do I know when to say, “Ok, I guess that’s not one of the talents,” and move on. Maybe I’m spending so much time trying to enhance a talent I suspect I’ve been given that I’m really missing the talents I actually did receive.

At the beginning of the movie Matilda (and maybe the book too, I don’t remember) they talk about people being born into this world as unique individuals. Some will be butchers and so on, and others will only be really good at making Jello salad. For some reason that has always stuck with me. Whenever I get to wondering about my talents that line pops into my head. And before you ask, no, Jello salad is not one of my talents. Trust me. It never sets properly. But I digress.

What if my talents are in that realm? What if my talent is getting knots out of shoelaces? What if my talent is memorizing movie lines? Folding underwear? Brushing the cat? If this is the case, then shouldn’t things I gave up on in the past stop bothering me? Shouldn’t I NOT have to wonder, “maybe that was it, and I missed the boat. I gave up to soon, and now I’ll never get that talent back, and I’ll have to answer for it when I meet God.” Why do I feel the need to do something more if this is what He intended me to do?

One Response to “Talents”

  1. When we talked about the parable of the talents in church, we talked about it in terms of gifts the Lord has given us, not necessarily “talents,” because as you know the word “talents” in the parable is kind of misleading. If God gives you money, you invest it wisely, whether that means into stocks and bonds or into the improvement of your home or into your children’s futures. If God gives you a calling, you magnify it. If God gives you a dairy farm, you make it successful–but that does not mean you have to milk the cows yourself. Because you’re being facetious, I’m not going to beat this dead horse. But would God hold you accountable for knowledge you did not have and did not have access to?

Leave a Reply

